New to this

Give advice, ask questions and find out information about Agencies.

Moderator: busybusybusy

Hilltop
GRAMMY Award

New to this

Post by Hilltop »

Hi, my DD is 15 and has wanted me to look into signing her up to an agency for a long time, however, I know nothing about it so have put it off. I know she’s not at the right age for musical theatre but maybe odd acting work and modelling would be something that she’s like to do. Where do I start and what do I need to know and do? We’re based in Berkshire, so anything local or London would be good. I have no background in this so know nothing!
ACookie
GRAMMY Award

Re: New to this

Post by ACookie »

OK so first of all just so you know, 15 is a really slow age for castings of any kind. At the end of year 11 or when the child turns 16 if it's in August, they no longer require their LEA's permission to perform and are what is known as out of licence. Most roles for 14-15 Yr olds will be taken by those over licencing age because its less hassle for production and less people on set which because of covid is also really important.

That said there is nothing wrong with getting an agent lined up because in 12 months time she will be in a better position to get castings.

Where your agent is located really doesn't matter. You would very rarely actually go to their offices as everything is done via email or phone. So don't worry about the precise location. Most in person castings used to be in London or possibly Manchester but now the majority of first round auditions are all done via self tape.