Query on performing arts degree costs

A place to talk about full time schools and post 16 training.

Moderator: busybusybusy

jlt4
Nominee

Query on performing arts degree costs

Post by jlt4 »

Hi,

I'm very new to all this, but I have read through this forum and I'm still confused.
Our family income is enough that we would hardly get any of the DaDA award for diplomas so I was looking at degree courses in musical theatre for my son who is absolutely determine to follow this path. I was staggered to find that not only do all the courses in London cost around £14k, you can also only get a student loan of £6k as they are classed as private colleges so not subject to university restrictions.

My simple question, is how does anyone ever afford it! We feel reasonably well off but could not find £8k plus maintenance costs (£6k on top of loan?) per year even if we didn't have any other children.

Do people take out extra loans? rely on family support? ask your DD/DS to take a gap year and work to build funds?
Apologies if this is stupid question and I've got the funding all wrong (here's hoping!)

We were looking at Laine's and it appears they only offer the diploma so we would be looking at funding the whole thing there and £24k is completely out of our reach and presumably most people's unless they get the DaDA award. I don't feel that we earn massive amounts of money and with dance/drama/singing/instrumental lessons we haven't managed to save nearly enough for any of this.
lyndahill
BAFTA Award

Re: Query on performing arts degree costs

Post by lyndahill »