Clueless! What classes to do?

Ask each other for help and advice!

Moderator: busybusybusy

Simba
Nominee

Clueless! What classes to do?

Post by Simba »

Hi all

I'm a complete newbie to the world of performing arts and I was after some advice on my 4 year old dd.

Hopefully it's goes without saying on this forum, that all I'm doing at this stage is following my dd's interests while looking at what would provide her the best foundation and options should she choose to carry on in this area later on. Also everything is subject to change as the social/school/extra curricular balances changes.

She currently does weekly
Acro 30mins
Ballet, Tap and Modern 1 hour
Musical Theatre 1.5 hour

She really looks forward to each class and I've really seen her confidence and language skills improve greatly as well as making lots of friends.

So I was wondering, going forward what else would compliment these sorts of classes? I've got her wait listed for singing as the list is so long for a 'good' school that when she is old enough her name will be near the top of the list.

What age is LAMDA exams from?

If the expense get too much would Acro be the class to drop?

Am I right in thinking that Musical Theatre is the best 'all rounder' and Ballet, Modern and Tap and the ones to keep up for a good foundation.

Sorry if I sound a bit over, but I heard that some things it's better to start young and then give up rather than try when you're older.

TIA (Hope I've posted this on the right board)
fartoomuchtodo
GRAMMY Award

Re: Clueless! What classes to do?

Post by fartoomuchtodo »

Hi there,