Excelerate at Arts Ed

A place to talk about full time schools and post 16 training.

Moderator: busybusybusy

evielovestoast
Nominee

Excelerate at Arts Ed

Post by evielovestoast »

Hi I’m brand new to this helpful forum hopefully someone can help. My dd is at a very well known performing arts college doing a foundation she is 16 and originally applied for a BTEC. After her audition she was offered the BTEC with 3 year Diploma. After her first week she realised that the timetable for both courses was too much (she had to retake Maths too) for her and moved to foundation. She is looking at options for next year but she will only be 17 so limited choice. She doesn’t want to stay where she is as it’s too dancer. Arts Ed is a favourite but the sixth form fees are just too much. I found a part time course there called Excelerate and wondered if anyone knew about it as it’s pretty new. She has lots of youth theatre experience and is just signing with an agent but she is stressed as to what to do next. She will have no A levels or a BTEC just the foundation and her gcse’s so this might limit her options even more. Hopefully someone will have some words of wisdom as not sure what to do. Thanks so much for reading my long post
jasmine2
BAFTA Award

Re: Excelerate at Arts Ed

Post by jasmine2 »

Hello
You sound like you have really thought about what she wants to do. I would say go for as many college auditions as you can afford/get to. If she is already doing the foundation course, it sounds like Excelerate is a similar thing. It reads that it is more for students that are unsure if it is the career path for them, or have not had too much training already.
It sounds like a brilliant course though.

What does your dd want to do? Straight acting or MT? There are plenty of colleges that offer fantastic courses for 17yrs+

Emil Dale Academy in Hitchin, Performers in Essex, Bodyworks in Cambridge, Bird, Laine, Millenium etc.

Good luck and keep us posted. :D