Newbie: audition for Ghostwriters

Chat about any aspect of your child's Casting or Audition

Moderator: busybusybusy

Tashadavis
Nominee

Newbie: audition for Ghostwriters

Post by Tashadavis »

Hi All,
We are very new to this world and I wondered if anyone can help. My son is registered with a local agency and has been asked to send a self tape to audition for a part in the above US TV show. I can’t figure out if this is something the agency have put him forward for or whether he has been specifically asked to audition. Also, if he did get the part, how on earth would that work if the show is being filmed in the US. Any thoughts anyone? He is 10 and only has school/drama club experience so far. Thanks.
Moosmum
BRIT Award

Re: Newbie: audition for Ghostwriters

Post by Moosmum »

Hi, it’s likely that the agency submitted him for the role. I’m new to this also but from my understanding the briefs go out to all agencies via spotlight etc,the agencies then submit kids they feel for the brief. Usually is a self tape first then if they want to see your child then you get auditions etc. As for the filming abroad, I think they have to have a chaperone on set at all times(usually preferred not to be a parent) and they will get tutored if in the US as it’s a legal requirement. Hope this helps abit. We usually do the self tapes then try to forget about them somewhat as you rarely hear unless successful in getting an audition :) x
Julie
BRIT Award

Post by Julie »

Hi
That particular casting is an open casting, so anyone can submit a selftape - original submission requests a self tape so unlikely preselected at this stage for this one. As far as I am aware agents are submitting their children/clients, and tapes via an agent are probably more likely to be seen than the thousands of others that will also submit separately. Castings like this are usually a long shot, they are looking throughout US,Canada and UK. That’s a lot of kids.