Castings: Advice for a Newbie

Chat about any aspect of your child's Casting or Audition

Moderator: busybusybusy

Simone Noah
Nominee

Castings: Advice for a Newbie

Post by Simone Noah »

Hi
I'm very new in to this world. My 7 year old son got signed by an agency in July 2017. In short, he went for an open audition for a laugh as we were in central London and passing by the auditions that day, he got a callback. He was only just 6 at that point, it was suggested that he go to Drama classes and from there they suggested that he audition for an agency as apparently he's a very good actor. It's all happened very quickly. Neither my husband or I or our other kids have any experience of acting or even considered our kids going down this route. Our agency is apparently one of the big child ones, but they have only put him forward for one small casting in December, which he was pencilled in for, but didn't get. The agency are not very responsive when you contact them. In fact other than the audition and texting us about the casting, we have no contact with them. If they walked past my son in the street they wouldn't know him. Is that the same everywhere? Also, if anyone has any advice on how to increase his castings that would be greatly appreciated too. Thanks so much!
Dogcop
BAFTA Award

Re: Castings: Advice for a Newbie

Post by Dogcop »

The only advice I can give from experience is that if it's a big agency they will have loads of children the same age as your son. They will only put a certain amount forward for each part.
It may be that he is being submitted lots of time but it's then up to the casting team to call the children they want in for castings.
I have taken dd out of a very well known agency purely for the reason above. Since she has been with a smaller agency, she has been to far more castings.
However, ds was with the big, well known agency ( ;) )and worked continually from the age of 9-14
Simone Noah
Nominee

Post by Simone Noah »